Move from Dish to Bell ExpressVu?

episcopus

Original poster
Mar 1, 2008
I just recently realized one can have access to Canadian satellite TV even when residing in the US. I am beginning to learn about what the requirements are to set this up as I have an intense interest in getting set up with this so I can watch hockey come playoff time! :)

On some threads I got the sense that the Dish and BEV systems / satellites were quite similar technically. My question is, given a working Dish installation, is it possible to convert that to a working BEV installation?

Are the satellite dishes compatible/interchangeable? Can Dish receivers be used against BEV? Or do you have to tear everything down to start with the BEV specific dishes and receivers?

I have a Dish SD subscription with a special Chinese package (Great Wall), would like to turn that into a BEV HD subscription with a Chinese add-on but with extra French / sports packages. Any special considerations here? I think I am already pointing at two satellites because of the intl channels. What do I need to be concerned about here?

Thanks!

Welcome :wave to Satelliteguys :)

I just recently realized one can have access to Canadian satellite TV even when residing in the US. I am beginning to learn about what the requirements are to set this up as I have an intense interest in getting set up with this so I can watch hockey come playoff time! :)
best reason to have it in my opinion. HOCKEY :)

On some threads I got the sense that the Dish and BEV systems / satellites were quite similar technically. My question is, given a working Dish installation, is it possible to convert that to a working BEV installation?
sort of. I'll explain more later

Are the satellite dishes compatible/interchangeable?
yes
Can Dish receivers be used against BEV?
no
Or do you have to tear everything down to start with the BEV specific dishes and receivers?
receivers yes...dishes no