My Dish Bill Getting out of Hand Any Ideas?

robertw477

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Feb 25, 2006
My Dish bill is really getting up there. It has been creeping up for years and now with tax at $161.00 a month. I have two receivers 722's with The Everything 250+HD Package+HBO/SHOWTIME/CINEMAX/STARZ. Also have two packs of locals. Are others paying this high. I have no conract with them. Thinking about making some changes. With the DVR charges and the HD stuff over tha past few yrs I think my costs are up more than 25%. I have been paying them on time for more than 10 years. I dont pay for the monthly maint contract. The details are below. Appreciate any suggestions. Can I negotiate something better with them. At some point I would consider upgrading to the 922 on both of my sets. I never thought I would be paying this much. I understand that DirectTV would be even more. I di like the Dish technology for the most part.

Mar 31 - Apr 30 HD Duo (2TV) DVR Receiver 17.00
America's Everything Pak 104.99
5 Superstations 7.00
Dish Platinum 10.00
DVR Service 6.00
HD 250 Free 0.00
$ 144.99
Taxes
Mar 16 State/Local Tax (Sales) 16.82
Total AutoPay on Apr 05, 2011 $ 161.81

Robert

It's up to you to decide what you want out of your Dish service.... I'm AEP with the receivers in my sig at over $180.00 a month....

Holy smokes $180 a month. I was wondering if I am missing something or there are further deals with Dish. Many years ago they offered a free month if you prepaid 1 year bill at a time. I did that for several yrs. I doubt many took them up on that offer.

Rob

you could look to see exactly how much you're using the HBO/Cinemax/Show stuff .. if not using it that much.. you might consider dropping the premiums and then adding a 8 dollar script to NetFlix...