NASA FTA With Old Dish Receiver

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Look Up

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Oct 5, 2008
Colorado
I'm brand new to FTA and anxious to get started. I got a complete Dish 500 set up with an old Echostar 4700 receiver with a blue card for about $10. I wanted to get NASA TV as my first venture into FTA so I set up the dish, turned the receiver on, and immediately got a strong signal and received NASA TV and a Dish preview channel. However, after only about 30 minutes of flipping through the (mostly blank) channels and accepting a software upgrade, I now get nothing. I notice that the card SN is all zero's. Can I do something to get NASA TV on this setup again? I can access the menu and do the system setup - I still have a strong signal, but the main screen locks on step 0 of 5 in "Acquiring satellite signal".

sure:

- you could get a real FTA receiver - it'll get NASA (and Angel One) just fine @ 119°.
Some members have commented that Coolsat 5000's and 6000's have gone for as little as $35 on eBay.
You want to be sure to get a receiver with blind scan.
For a receiver with PVR capablility (you add your own USB hard drive) , consider the Visionsat IV-200.

- then get a 36" dish with linear LNB
LNB can be Standard or Universal (won't matter for a beginner)

- check out what's on FTA
TheList at the top of this page has a technical list you'll want to use once you graduate to it
For a beginner to get a clue of what's on the air, FTAlist will get you started.
And even though TheList has a good sat calculator, you might also want to take a look at GeoSatFinder and print out a PDF list of all satellites and aiming info for 'em.

- as a recommendation for your first FTA satellite, let me suggest 123° west.

Get FTA Receiver and Revive Old Dish Receiver?