Need advice for a Louisvillle, KY install.....

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Paul Disney IV

Original poster
Jan 17, 2005
Hello

I recently bought a Directv system from Best Buy as a X-mas present for myself. When the installer came out, there was a couple inches of snow on the ground and it was freezing. He took one look at my tall, slanted roof and told me that there were too many trees to do an install. Before I knew it he was gone, along with my dreams of fantastic television programming. However once the snow melted and I started paying more attention, I noticed that there are satelites in my complex (I live in a group of townhouses). I also noticed that while there are a number of trees around, the height of my roof should be sufficent to aim well above them. Here are my questions (keep in mind I AM a rookie): I will not be getting HD right now, just the basic $40 per month programming with locals. How many of the satellites do I need my dish pointed at? The install man did mention that in the old days of one satellite I would've been no problem. Secondly, should I call the installation company and ask for a second opinion (now that the snow is gone and it's a little warmer)? Finally, if they refuse to come back out, who do I complain to, Best Buy (where I bought the system), or Directv? Any help would be appreciated as I am getting desperate! One more note, I have no qualms with getting on the roof myself if I need to....

Paul E. Disney IV

Paul Disney IV said:
Hello