Status
Please reply by conversation.

kevinn

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jun 30, 2006
New Orleans
Hurricane Katrina Dish going back up

My friend gave me his Katrina dish, the pole was bent at the ground but the dish didn't lose any panels or slam to the ground - till the demolition guys knocked it down. I am happy and pleased to know he just bought all new C and Ku goodies before the storm, lifting up the cover revealed a nice setup.

Being completely broke with the exception of the stuff I am auctioning on ebay, I have managed to scoop up a couple old receivers, a positioner, and a new FTA receiver with blind scan and all the good stuff. I am EXTREMELY new to this, big time into electronics but a complete noob to this stuff.

I cememted the pole about 4 feet deep this time and put a huge mass of cement down there with it, its good and plumb. Now tell me, how do I get the dish onto the pole? Its above my roof top.

I am extremely inteested in receiving live feeds and interested in other stuff up there, just scanning the skies for the most part would keep me happy. By the way, the dish is one of those 8 foot mesh dishes.

I am down here in the greater New Orleans area, nobody is open and I can't find cable for my bud to finish installing it - not to mention I still cant figure out how to get the dish up on the new pole way up there.

Help.. Consider I am broke too, Katrina took a lot from us including my job, money is critical.. Here is a picture of the LNB I have on my bud, note the cut cables.

PS: Katrina left dishes everywhere down here, I ride through areas of the City that are still uninhabited and there was dishes everywhere. You can find DSS dishes in the trash piles everywhere. I noticed a lot of standing buds with houses blown apart, what's up with this? I am interested in finding some more big buds, I have a whole area of the back yard to myself and can fit about 3 buds on the ground level, one is waiting now to be raised on my roof.