Need help finding a signal before committing to Dish network.

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

dan1520

Original poster
Jun 14, 2011
Florida
I live in a mountain area @ 4500 ft with lots of trees. I'd like to have Dish or Direct TV but not sure if I can get a good signal. Before calling the providers to check, I noticed on ebay some signal finding equipment. The price is reasonable ($ 9 - $15) but it need a receiver which I don't have.

Question: Is there a model, reasonably priced, that can find a signal without having a receiver? Or, is there another way?

This is my first attempt to investigate satellite TV so consider me a newbie.

Thanks

Dan

Got an Android or iPhone?

If yes then get a copy of the DishPointer app and you will be able to see if you can get a signal or not. :)

Got an Android or iPhone?

If yes then get a copy of the DishPointer app and you will be able to see if you can get a signal or not. :)

I have it on my iphone.. It actually works pretty good.. At least it puts you in the general area..
I didn't know that Florida had any mountains.. LOL

Decide which provider is most appealing to you then call them. Their installer will make the determination if you can get a signal or not. If you can't he/she leaves. You're not "committed" to anything this way.

You are going about this wrong, take the advice of Hall, just call Dish and they will determine if you can get a signal. Oh, and the highest point in Florida is 3500 FT. I'm not aware of any recent volcanic activity, but I'll check the evening news.......