Need help please

Status
Please reply by conversation.

purrlady57

Original poster
Aug 18, 2010
Missouri
My C Band system got zapped by a lightning strike earlier this month; I replaced the LNB and still have no picture. Is there anyway for me to test the LNB I installed to see if it's bad?

I'm not a techie; I need an answer in plain English please. My receiver hasn't updated since the lightning zap; I tried unplugging the receiver to see if it would reset and it did not. I also did an online rehit through NPS and the counter still reads zero.

I was on the fence about investing money into fixing my C Band system since I received the letter from NPS that stated C Band is finished at the end of the year. After browsing the forums here, it seems that NPS is not telling the truth about that, correct? I've had my system since the early 90's and have been very happy with it; I upgraded to the 4DTV receiver when I moved to a new home in May, 2003. This is the first time my system has gone down since the move; I got zapped by a lightning strike at my former residence once that required repairs to my tv, satellite receiver, replacing my garage door opener, along with a remote controlled ceiling fan, the ignitor for my gas stove, several timers and 1 wall outlet. The last lightning zap took out my dish and tripped one of my GFI outlets in my kitchen; otherwise, nothing else was damaged.

Any help/info would be greatly appreciated. My neighbor also has a C Band dish and has more knowledge than I do about working on them; he also has done repairs to a C Band dish that a friend of his has. He doesn't have a computer though; but I can relay any info/help from the forum to him.

I was pleased to find this site; I just joined up.

C band is not finished! See the post by SRL in this forum.

A lighting strike probably did kill your lnb and quite possibly your receiver.