need some advise .

Status
Please reply by conversation.

holguinerito

Original poster
Sep 7, 2008
Hello guys .Im new to this hobby and was wondering if anyone can give me a idea on what dish i should start with . At this time i have a Samsonic BS-8100 from a friend but dont have a FTA dish all i have its a Dish500 with twin LNBs .In a month or so im planing on getting a Viewsat ultra .I was looking on the Sadoun site but cant figure what dish and LNB to chose from . so if u guys can give me a idea on how to start ill be more than happy to take the advise .I already have a few sats in mind and also be moving so im trying to look for a place with a wide angle to aim at what im looking for (hispasat and some to the west also ) Im in Houston tx 77060 . This receiver has a port on the back serial port ,its there any updates that i should install on it ? and also i have to order a remote since my friend lost the remote :mad: . so thats were im now any advise would help thanks ...

Welcome to Satellite Guys , Holguinerito .

From the name I take it your from Holguin , I was once in Nicaro where they have a Nickel Processing plant.

I would start off with a 36inch dish ( best size dish for the money ), and in your case a Universal LNB because of the possibility you might be aimed at Intelsat 9.

Please rethink your receiver buying options and do not purchase a Viewsat Ultra until you're sure that the receiver will work properly , some of those high price receivers cannot blind scan or work a motor properly.

Good luck finding a remote , you might wan't to look at Coolsats since they are going real cheap on ebay and are great for true FTA.