New Slimline, HR 10- 250 HD receiver????

Status
Please reply by conversation.

ttugboatgreg

Original poster
Apr 23, 2008
I am new to this so bear with me. Today I installed a new Slimline dish. It is hooked up to HR10-250 HD DVR one of the first HD receivers I think. Anyways, I managed to pick up a signal on three Sat. 101 A 95, 119 B 75, 110 c 93.

My question is how do I pick up more HD channels?? After installing the Sat I pick up only 10 or so HD channels. I really do not want to buy a $200 receiver. I have heard of a B line converter. would that solve my problem????

thanks

WELCOME!

You need an MPEG4 capable receiver along with the 5 LNB dish to receive all the new HD channels. The B-band converters work only with those MPEG4 receivers as well. So adding them to a SlimLine dish & MPEG2 receiver setup will not accomplish anything.

You can get into a MPEG4 unit for far less than $200 too. In fact, how long have you been a DirecTV customer? You likely could have got the dish and MPEG4 receiver simply for the cost of them to FedEx it to you. I have heard some FREE, and many at $19 - $49 depending.