New subscriber help - No Superdish or 522?

rshapiro6

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Nov 8, 2004
I am trying to sign up for Dish network. This is my first time, I've decided to finally dump Cablevision. I have done extensive research on this site and the Dish home page. However, I have a lot of questions that the Sales people can't seem to answer. I was under the impression that all new installs that would typically require two dishes would be getting the superdish. Every time I give my location and ask what kind of equipment I would be getting, they say I would need two dishes. When I ask about superdish they say, no, that's only for spanish programming and international channels. What's the truth and how do I get one and do I really need one?

I also asked about getting a 522, and they say I can only get a 522 if I pay for two tv's. I currently would like to do digital homa advantage with 2 811'a and one 522. Why must they make it so difficult to sign up a new subscriber?! I am getting very frustrated already and I am not even a customer yet. I am using a referral code from ClubDish also. One CSR actually told me to go to Radioshack and give it to them, but I didn't think it would work with a retailer.

Can someone please help me make the right setup decisions now so I can enjoy my Dish soon? Sorry if these kind of posts are common, but I couldn't find all my answers with searching alone. :(

It depends where you are. What's your zip code?

The locals for different areas are on different satellites. If you like, you can go to http://www.dishchannelchart.com and find the city your locals are normally broadcast from. That should show you which satellite they are on.

You start with a single dish 500 pointed at 110 & 119. If your locals are on either of those, you only need the d500.

If 105 or 121, you need a superdish instead.

If 148 or 61.5, you need a second dish.