New to Dish/possibly low signal?

gretschdrum

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Nov 4, 2007
I'm new to Dish (less than one month) but I feel like I'm having some rain/wind fade issues that maybe I shouldn't have. After reading hundreds of posts I'm realizing that I might be having some weak signal issues. FYI, I'm in the Atlanta area and have the 1000.2 dish with triple LNBs and a 722 DVR. The 3 satellite signal readings that I'm getting are: 110 sat =32, 119 sat=55, and 129 sat=39 Also, bear in mind that these readings are using the NEW scale of signal strength and not the old scale that sometimes read into the 100s.

Any advice or links that might clarify would be appreciated.

The only one close is the 129.

The others are way low!

Hi Folks,

Thanks for the info. I suppose the dish was either not tweaked when it was installed or it's perhaps moved a bit because we had some strong 40mph winds last week. Either way it warrants a call to customer service to see what they have to say.

Thanks and other info/advice is welcome (even if it's advice for dealing with customer service).

Customer Service call and their subsequent response

When you checking these, were the signal bar red or green? I suspect the one for 110 would be red. Anyway, time to call customer service for an appointment.

Thanks for responding WPB (and others). Here's the scoop from Dish CS. I called and they ran a few diagnostics including switch tests, etc. The upshot is this: If all signals are in the green, and they are except that they're very low, everything is good with them. I asked them if they thought the signals were below normal and they basically said there was no "normal"...only good and bad.;) They also reiterated that with the new software's signal meter the signal strength could be significantly lower than the old scale of measurement.