New to FTA....some basic questions?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

pokey31

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Aug 10, 2005
Pickerington, OH
First off, i have REALLY enjoyed this site since i was introduced to it a week ago. I currently have had a pansat 35" dish with a uniden supra receiver for about 3 years, so i have some basic knowledge of the whole process. I am looking to upgrade to a wineguard 76cm dish and the pansat 3500 receiver. And i live in Ohio.........Now to some questions:

I tried to skim through the forum topics first to find the answers...

1)I noticed on lyngsat all of the different satellites..with my current dish, i can recieve the normal satellites (sbs6, amc9, etc..) in the 61-160 degrees area. In america with a pansat 3500/wineguard 76cm, is it possible to recieve any of the atlantic satellites in the 0-61 degrees range or anyother satellites overseas?? If so, do you need any extra equipment for it?

2)I am aware of the enormous amount of college football on analog-ku.....is there a whole lot of college football on digital-ku fta?

3) I noticed on ebay, they have pansat 3500's for sale with irdeto cards, what type of channels can you pick up with irdeto cards, that you can't normally pick up w/o any type of card?

4)Lastly, i would like to keep my analog uniden reciever hooked up, alongside of my pansat 3500 fta reciever.....is there an easy way to do this with a single lnbf? i am looking at purchasing one of the 2 .3 lnbfs, either the extreme or the invacom.

Thanks in advance for your guys insight......i would be even more lost than i am without it!!

For #2) Last year:

Sportswest feeds were 4:2:0 digital, Sun Belt, PAC-10 and ESPN have some 4:2:0 and 4:2:2. WAC Conference teams use 4:2:0 feeds like COX Cable in El Paso, KFVE in Hawaii, Broncos Television Network, KFRE in Fresno, etc...

More will probably go digital this year I guess and probably from FSN.

4/