New to OTA and need help with inconsistent reception

DeniseO

Original poster
Jun 11, 2011
Central Florida
I have looked through the posts and didn't see the issue I am having, but I might not have searched for the right issue/solution. I am very new to OTA TV, until recently I didn't know that there was a solution to getting 'local channels' that are pretty far from me. I did alot of reading online and finally purchased an RCA ANT751, installed it on the back of my house, just below the roofline (two story) and pointed it to 56 degrees. I used RG6 quad shield coax, which runs about 40 feet from the antenna to the tv. I am able to recieve all the yellow, green and red stations, but the VHF, especially the lower stations, are very sporadic and I would like to recieve them.

My questions are, did I buy the right antenna, if I add a pre-amp will that help, or just add more noise and make the channels that are coming in go from good to less good? If I add a second antenna of the same model (is it stacking or ganging?) about 10 feet from the first antenna (horizontally) and point it to 56 degrees, will it solve my reception problem? I would appreciate any thoughts or suggestions you might have.

Yellow, green, red stations ? Is this from antennaweb.org or tvfool.com ? Can you share the results that either of those give you ?

You mention 56 degrees, quad-shield, pre-amps, etc, etc so it sounds like you have a pretty good idea on this stuff... :)

Amplifiers are good and bad. They can help and can also hurt reception. I wouldn't even consider one unless you're 30+ miles away.

I have read alot, and much of it is contradictory. They don't all give dates of when the information was posted, and there may be differences in the situations that I can't see or understand. I used Antennaweb.org, but think that the response was similar on the other site as well. Here it is: Antenna Listing.GIF