New to the Hobby with an X-Squared M1

Status
Please reply by conversation.

dsmith0429

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Sep 12, 2013
Lake Placid, FL
I'm new to the FTA hobby, started in March 2013.

I have the X-Squared M1 Receiver and for me it works great. However I plan to upgrade to a box with MPEG-4, PVR, & IPTV capabilities.

The only downside I have with the X-Squared M1 Receiver is I can't find software that will allow me to update the satellite database. Other than that, I love it.

I currently have it set up using 4 universal Ku LNBFs on 4 old recycled dishes from DirectPC, Dish Network, Primestar, and Starband. Currently I'm setup for AMC 9, 83.0° West, Galaxy 3C, 95.0° West, Galaxy 19, 97.0° West, and SES 1, 101.0° West.

I also use 1 dish to manually rotate and receive other satellites, I marked the post so I could easily find them again.

Planning on adding a motor to one of the dishes and eliminating the others. The Primestar is the largest of the dishes, and seems to have the best reception, and is manufactured by Channel Master (also the Starband, not sure about the others, they are not marked).

I also have an old approximately 8 ft. dish (appears to be fiberglass) that's cracked near the center, and was wondering if it's possible to repair and still get good reception for C-band. I was thinking of adding a homemade bracket/patch over the crack on the back and using an auto fiberglass repair kit to fill the crack on the front, sanding it smooth, and re-painting. Anyone know if this will work?

Welcome to SatelliteGuys!

If you are planning on a single, fixed (non-motorized) dish, you could consider 30W for movies. 125W has PBS network feeds, which can be very entertaining and informative. 83W has RTV (Retro TV) which has some classic TV shows. 103W has NBC network feeds and COZI (another retro network).

I have this sick addiction to the Atlanta falcons.

Very sorry about that. ;)