new to voom looking for local hd channels

rver11

Original poster
Dec 12, 2005
I am a newbie. I just bought a motorola voom reciever off of ebay.I am having trouble getting the reciever to lock onto any local channels.When I go into the systems menu and aim the antenna I get a strong signal on channels 24 and 35 signal of 95 and 99 on each but when i scan for local channels the reciever does not lock onto any channels.i live in the Oklahoma City,OK area and have software ver.2.4c on the reciever.Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Welcome to the forum, rver11!
The first thing to do is to check places like www.antennaweb.org to see what kind of channels (and corresponding RF numbers) you can expect at your street address. It will also provide suggestions about the type of antenna you might need to receive them.

I have checked with antennaweb and did get the corresponding rf numbers .The antenaae i am using is the wynnegaurd that came with the unit. I have left the diplixer attached to the reciever becasuse this antennae needs power,i think.If I have a sisnal strength of over 90 on a couple of stations the reciever should lock on .am I correct ?

I think that you should remove the diplexer as you are not combining sat with ota signals. And if I remember correctly, the antenna is powered directly from the box.

Actually it is powered from the box, but only via diplexer. If you remove it, you will need a power supply.

rver11 said:
If I have a sisnal strength of over 90 on a couple of stations the reciever should lock on .am I correct ?
If the box is not from your area (doesn't have your Super-DMA map), then it will only lock on these channels if they are digital and are sending correct PSIP data (station Name/ID).

I have put a new channel master antenna.model # 3020 and it looks like my signal strength is very good.when iI go into the aim antenna menu I get a 99 readinf on 8 stations but when I scan it will not lock on.