1. System Upgrade THIS SUNDAY!

    This Sunday SatelliteGuys will be upgrading its forum software to the new 2.x version. The work to upgrade will take a few hours. Work is expected to start early Sunday Morning. For more details please visit our Operations Center Forum

    Thank you for your support!
    CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
    Dismiss Notice

New update on hopper3 u540

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by bluegras, Sep 25, 2019.

  1. bluegras

    bluegras Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    3,257
    Likes Received:
    1,017
    Good morning new update on the hopper 3 DVR u 540 @204am cst. Don't know the changes. Thanks
     
  2. DJ Lon

    DJ Lon SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    294
    Likes Received:
    272
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Downloaded it a few hours back; haven't noticed anything unusual yet
     
  3. dweber

    dweber SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    795
    Likes Received:
    743
    Location:
    Plain City, OH
    I updated both of my Hopper3 receivers to U540. I have not seen any major differences yet. Perhaps One of our Dish installers can check the tech forum and report back.


    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
     
    crodrules and charlesrshell like this.
  4. cosmo_kramer

    cosmo_kramer Master of my Domain

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Posts:
    17,773
    Likes Received:
    10,681
    Location:
    41.605N, -72.879W
    Some of you guys like to be on the bleeding edge. Unless an update has something I'm waiting for, I'll wait patiently.....
     
    crodrules, navychop and charlesrshell like this.
  5. DJ Lon

    DJ Lon SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    294
    Likes Received:
    272
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Most of the time I usually wait until the jury's out but 538 and 539 introduced some major issues for our household especially with the Joeys
     
    crodrules and navychop like this.
  6. LQQK

    LQQK SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    439
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    I tried to download it today but it stayed on 539. I hope it solves my guide issues.
     
    charlesrshell and crodrules like this.
  7. eddie willers

    eddie willers SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Posts:
    942
    Likes Received:
    724
    Location:
    Braselton, Ga.
    I can't help it. I'm an old guy who remembers my DISHPlayer 7100 with the built in WebTV. I would wake up and see that it had an downloaded an ***Upgrade*** and would be so excited I wanted to call all my other friends with WebTV but, of course, I couldn't. All our phone lines were busy finishing with the ***Upgrade***! :biggrin
     
  8. DISH Support

    DISH Support OFFICIAL DISH SUPPORT Staff Member DISH DIRT TEAM!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Posts:
    359
    Likes Received:
    403
    Hey, LQQK! A few ways to force the software update is by pressing the Home/Menu button three times. Scroll down to Tools, then select Upgrade Software". Select "Upgrade Now" on pop-up 1573. If you do not have the latest software version, the receiver will reboot, go into stand-by, and then bring up attention 061.

    Standard update process is to place the Hopper into standby mode by pressing the power button on either the receiver or remote. If you have Joeys, they also have to be in standby and there has to be an available tuner.

    If a software update is needed, "Attention 061" will display within 20 minutes. Guide update may happen before the 061 message. If that is the case, allow guide to update in full, then allow an additional 5 minutes before 061 will appear. -Christina W.
     
    crodrules, charlesrshell and LQQK like this.
  9. TomT127

    TomT127 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Posts:
    94
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Sugar Land, TX
    If the update will bring back my EHD than I'm all in.
     
  10. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8,361
    Likes Received:
    3,208
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    LQQK, attached is a list of sequence of events when you do manual Hopper software update. Works every time for me, be patient.
     

    Attached Files:

    LQQK and crodrules like this.
  11. LQQK

    LQQK SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    439
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    Thank-U, I saved it before but apparently, when we got a new computer it got buried somewhere. I saved this one again.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  12. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8,361
    Likes Received:
    3,208
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Welcome, good luck.
     
    LQQK likes this.
  13. LQQK

    LQQK SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    439
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    Thanks, Again...It (U540) is now installed!
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  14. dgrasha

    dgrasha Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    south ms
     
  15. dgrasha

    dgrasha Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    south ms
    Followed this exact procedure and did not update to u540. Is it not available to all Hopper 3's?
     
  16. LQQK

    LQQK SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    439
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    Do the one in the PDF that Charlesrshell posted up above.

    I was hoping the update would fix the problems with our guide but it did not…
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  17. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8,361
    Likes Received:
    3,208
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    dgrasha , see post #10.
     
  18. DJ Lon

    DJ Lon SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    294
    Likes Received:
    272
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    My observations so far...as last evening progressed the interface (menus, info, guide descriptions, etc.) got slower and slower and slower and would sometimes take up to 30 seconds to populate by the time I called it a night. In addition when you would go to the DVR menu and choose a program to play that was recorded last night all we got was the sequential green boxes with no options
     
  19. thomasjk

    thomasjk SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,097
    Likes Received:
    429
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    I have U540 and have not seen any of the behavior you describe. Did you try pulling the plug to reset the box?
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  20. LQQK

    LQQK SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    439
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    Will pulling the plug provide different results than "Resetting The Hopper"?
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...