Newbie appreciates advice--towers

Mark_G

Original poster
Sep 9, 2009
New York USA
Hi, I am completely new to this, so pardon if any of my questions seem silly.

We're building a weekend house deep in the woods of NY State. There's elec and phone, but no cable--so I am trying to get a better understanding of what we should be looking for equipment & provider-wise.

I had a local company come out to give us information where to mount the dish(es), and it turns out, because of the tree cover and hilly terrain, that we're limited.

The best location is at an elevation of about 20' off the ground, right next to a 24" dia+ mature pine tree, downhill 120' from the house.

The installer feels that mounting the dish directly to the tree is our best option, though he said that he wd get in trouble with Hughes as they forbid this kind of installation.

If we go the route of a 20' tower, I am concerned about co$t, and also that installation w/concrete pad will certainly disrupt the roots of this tree--which we see as a more invasive (worse) situation.

I would appreciate any suggestions for alternatives. Are there masts that can be installed and partially supported by a neighboring tree? Or should we carefully encircle the tree with some kind of clamp, to give stability but not harm the tree?

Equipment-wise, we are thinking abt Satellite HD, possibly preparing for Satellite Internet, and Sirius. So thoughts on those choices welcome, too.

In our area there is only one independent store left that sells and installs satellite equipment. So there is a paucity of information--really surprising to me.

Thanks in advance for feedback.

--Mark

Hi, I am completely new to this, so pardon if any of my questions seem silly.

We're building a weekend house deep in the woods of NY State. There's elec and phone, but no cable--so I am trying to get a better understanding of what we should be looking for equipment & provider-wise.