Newbie PBS scheduling question (KU)

Status
Please reply by conversation.

techie

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jun 4, 2006
I'm an experienced electronics/radio tech, but a newbie where FTA is concerned. Here is my dilemma: at the moment all I want to receive is the FTA, KU band, PBS (Public TV - probably national, east or west). I think I've figured out what I need in terms of hardware, but I have another problem. I can't find an hourly programming schedule for the national (KU-band) PBS downlinks. As I read it, there is FTA/KU-band PBS being broadcast .... is that correct? Is that schedule something that's not published publicly? Have I simply failed to google it? Am I "flogging a dead horse", as the saying goes? Or, could it be the same schedule as the PBS C-band transponder that transmits from the same bird (AMC-4)?
Any tips on solving this newbie-grade mystery, or possible special hardware advice that might be applicable to this particular task (?) would be appreciated (I haven't bought the hardware yet).
Cheers,
techie

here is the schedule for the C-Band feed

http://www.pbs.org/tvschedules/satellite.html

I would creat one on TitanTV...you can create your own setup of channels. I have in mine
-Channels I get OTA
-G10 stuff
-PBS & PBS West (along with Montana PBS)

Attachments

• untitled.JPG
    untitled.JPG
    93.9 KB · Views: 240
Thanks for the PBS schedule link for C-band Iceberg, but I still don't know if it's the same as the KU-band programming (from the same bird). This may be a stupid newbie question, but does this mean that it is the same for KU and C? Maybe I'm missing something basic in my understanding of how satellite programming is set up, being a newbie.
In actuality, my main aim is to find a way (using any FTA bird/s) to receive certain Britcoms (BBC British Comedies) and one BBC drama from my rural location, where no local sources exist. That's all I need, but .......