Newbie to FTA has question on new setup before purchase

jmcmahon

Original poster
Aug 17, 2020
Williston, North Dakota
Hi,

I'm new to the FTA world,

I'm appalled by Directv and Dish network prices and would rather invest in the best FTA setup possible,
upfront the cost would be high but in the long run it would be cheaper.

A few questions I have:

Is there a motorized option for finding satellites rather than moving the satellite dish by hand?
Do I need multiple receivers to receive different satellites?
Is it possible to pre-program a favorites list on a receiver that might include different channels from different satellites, maybe have the satellite dish
change automatically to the correct satellite?

In peoples opinion, what's the best most versatile receive/satellite dish set up possible? what site would that setup be available from?

I would like to be able to receive all the FTA channels that we would normally see from a Directv /Dish subscription without the monthly fees.

Is it possible to purchase subscriptions directly from HBO, Showtime, Starz, NFL network and so on (you get the idea) and buy a receiver that
is capable of receiving those channels? i'm talking about paid subscriptions to those not hacking them I just would rather pay them directly.

Thanks,

John

Hi,

I'm new to the FTA world,

I'm appalled by Directv and Dish network prices and would rather invest in the best FTA setup possible,
upfront the cost would be high but in the long run it would be cheaper.

A few questions I have:

Is there a motorized option for finding satellites rather than moving the satellite dish by hand?
Do I need multiple receivers to receive different satellites?
Is it possible to pre-program a favorites list on a receiver that might include different channels from different satellites, maybe have the satellite dish
change automatically to the correct satellite?