Nimiq 82

DWReimer

Original poster
May 12, 2005
Need some advice.

I just moved so I am in the process of setting up my BEV dish. I bought a new dish/lnb (dish network 500 with the new lnb with the port 1, port 2 and lnb input configuration). I got the dish set up and tuned for the 91 bird and get great signals on all transponders. I couldn't get any signal on the 82 bird for a few hours. After running the check switch routine several times and waiting a while, the 82 transponders started showing up one at a time. I get most transponders in the 45-60% range. Is this normal for the 82 transponders to show up slowly like this as opposed to the 91 transponders which showed up immediately, or is my lnb defective. I've never used this type of lnb before.

Also, I can't get any signal on two 82 transponders (7 and 11) not matter where I move the dish and no matter how I fine tune it. Any ideas what I can try. I am thinking about getting an older style lnb with the SW21 and see if that helps.

Any help would be appreciated.

Your geographic location is the key here. Sounds like you are on the edge of the footprint for 82.

You don't disclose your location, which is OK, but if you are in the mid to southern US, you are likely outside the footprint for the signal.

The 82 satellite, Nimiq4, was launched on September 19, 2008 to replace the previous Nimiq at this location. It's beam is focused more tightly toward Canada and many in the US were partially or completely cut off from it's signal.

See the sticky thread in this forum in which users have provided input as to their signal levels in various parts of the US. Thread: "Nimiq4 Contour Map....a First Take"

Last edited:
Where ya located? 82 is pretty weak once you get a couple states into the US from Canada so that is probably it