Noise and Line issues

jlambert1982

Original poster
Aug 31, 2011
Arkansas
My first post is a problem that doesn't make any sense to me. I am a tech guy, not an AV guy, but I'm learning.

I recently upgraded my 3 year old 46" LCD Samsung to a 55" LED Samsung and now I am having some issues. I have my HD Sat box, Blu Ray player, Xbox 360, and Apple TV all going HDMI to my receiver and one HDMI from my receiver to my TV. My previous tv used a 45 foot HDMI run with the same setup, and worked fine. Now I have just a 6 foot HDMI cable and I'm getting static or white lines on my display.

Must be the TV, right? Well when I go straight from any of my sources and take the receiver out of the picture, all is good.

Do HDMI posts on quality receivers just crap out?
Is it possible that when moving around my setup I accidentally exposed my cabling to interference? I try and keep my cabling neat but i can't gurantee my HDMI bunch isn't closer to the power cords that usual.
The tv is plugged up to a different outlet. Could there be a power conditioning issue with it? I tried my old tv and didn't notice anything from that outlet, but could it be a tolerance level on the television?

If someone could please help me make an educated guess of where to start troubleshooting, it would be appreciated.

Hi jlambert and welcome to the forum :welcome

You gave us most of what we need to help, except for the model of receiver. That would be helpful.

I don't think it is the TV, but I do have a few questions. Was the 46" TV 1080P, or 720P? You could be having issues because the resolution increased, causing issues with a lower standard HDMI.

When you directly connected the BluRay player, did you try it with both cables? I am leaning toward a bad cable here. Try the other cable and confirm it is still good.