Noob needs help pointing dish when I travel

imchrisf

Original poster
Sep 4, 2012
Boise, Idaho
As stated, I am a Noob, so if I am in the wrong place please point me to a the right thread. I have been with Dish for a long time, but finally decided to get a second dish to take RVing and tailgating. I just got a Hopper, and I know that it is not as easy to point it as some. I made sure I got the same Dish they put on my house, I got the correct Node, and I used the Android app and your website to get the correct position at my house before I left for the weekend. Only took an hour or so of frustration to get it to link up. Not bad though. Once I got to the campsite though, there were trees where 119 was sitting and I tried everything for hours to get it to come up. Finally got it by using someone elses campsite with line of site while i watched the Game. I want to become a satelite pointing stud so I can get my stuff everywhere I travel. I know there are other sattelites i could have used I think. I only wanted to get ESPN. Where do I start to learn this stuff? I have android, iPhone, Tablets etc. of every kind. I havent purchased any apps yet, and I have heard of a device that points me the right way, but dont know anything about it. Help? I can't do 3 hours of set up for every night I camp. Thanks for everything.

Something to consider would be to get an EA lnb setup for your dish so pointing to the southeast becomes an option if LOS is not there to the west. A good compass and a level and good technique should have you setting up in less than 30 minutes easy. Practice may be in order because once you do it a few times, it gets damn easy.