Norsat LNB on Mini Bud

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

Captain Canuck

Original poster
Sep 24, 2010
Ottawa, Canada
Has anyone experimented with these Norsat LNB's on a 1.2m or 1.8m dish? I'd like to get both Ku & C Band on a smaller dish. I'm restricted to dish size because of my location (and more likely Bylaws). I'm a newbie to all this and am looking for a "turn key"/hassle free solution. From what I've read, the Ku Lnb would be the central lnb and the C Band would be off center. Are the Norsats only meant for a prime focus dish? What kind of feed horn thingies and brackets would I need?

bigger is always better:

Has anyone experimented with these Norsat LNB's on a 1.2m or 1.8m dish? I'd like to get both Ku & C Band on a smaller dish. I'm restricted to dish size because of my location (and more likely Bylaws). I'm a newbie to all this and am looking for a "turn key"/hassle free solution. From what I've read, the Ku Lnb would be the central lnb and the C Band would be off center. Are the Norsats only meant for a prime focus dish? What kind of feed horn thingies and brackets would I need?
Your post was moved to a thread of its own.
But it had been on a discussion of dual-output LNBFs like the C2 and DMC242, and how to hook them up.
That thread transitioned into conversation about Norsat LNBs on a an Orthomode feedhorn.
Here is a thread specifically discussing the Ortho feeds, and you should find the info helpful:
Thinking about orthomode feedhorns
For me to repeat anything from either thread, would be redundant at this time.

However, dual band reception on small dishes is quite challenging.