Not happy, being forced to leave Dish.

I knew something like this was going to happen.

For some reason techs don't like doing pole mounts or burying cable.

All they do is pawn it off to another tech, or for another day.

I have been doing this for 17 years. When I run into this situation, it's called going to Home Depot, getting a pole, bag of cement and maybe buying a post hole digger and getting the job installed, closed, finished, done and over with.

You know how many post hole diggers I have at my store because I was an hour away from the office and just wanted to close out a job? There must be a dozen that I have bought over the years.

My techs do the same dam thing to customers and it just pisses the hell out of me.

It's not just a 'dish' issue, same issue with Directv, Exede, and Hughesnet.

Even comcast installers have a problem understanding the simple concept of burying the cable after the job is complete.
Wait a minute.. YOUR techs were following those same rules the in house and fulfillment guys did? The "must get locate before installing pole mount and burying cable"? THat's ridiculous....
In most properties, it is pretty easy to avoid buried utilities.
All one has to do is look to the dmark, telco interface and cable( if applicable) and then draw a reasonably straight line to the pedestals. Power and gas are buried pretty deep and of little danger of getting hit.
Now for front easement utilities, it may get a little dicey but if one is not sure, they should just make the effort to look for a more suitable placement.
I used to be a locator. On old guy showed me a neat trick to locate utilities by using a couple of those marker flags.

In our front yard, between our home and our neighbor to the north, are pedestals for electric and cable. The demarc points for both are on the north side of the house as well. My dish is located on the south side. The tech still wouldn't dig a hole for a pole-mounted dish without having the utilities marked.