Point me in the right direction

Status
Please reply by conversation.

rcs4787

Original poster
Jun 20, 2007
After researching FTA(pizza dish) I thought I was ready to make the plunge. I purchased the new Viewsat Ultra(still in box) and all necessay hardwire for installation. Then I found this site with very good info on C band and its advantages. Now I am thinking forget Pizza and go BUD. Help me to reduce the plethora of information on this site down to a clear path of satellite happiness ever after. I understand BUD may require a little more technical know how, I am an RD Engineering Tech of 12 yrs if that helps in pointing me in the right direction.

FTA isnt pizza dish...lets make that perfectly clear :)

FTA requires a 30" or larger dish (or in the case of what you want in C-Band...a 6 foot dish or larger)

By all means read the BUD section of this site, and scroll through the many threads.
They are a wealth of knowledge.

If you want a concentrated dose, to get up to speed quickly, I recommend the Geo-Orbit web site.
It looks like it was made in the 80's, but the fundamentals listed there are the basis for installing and running a C-band dish.
Read it 'till your eyes bleed, and you'll come away fully prep'd for the task.
Only took me a few months of reading it over (and over) to come up to speed. ;)

It's not the RF you'll have trouble with.
It's the orbital mechanics and geometry of the whole problem.
I know my RF, but a background in rocket science :D or astronomy would have helped.

If you want to go all out, get a 12 ft. C/Ku wire mesh dish with 36 inch actuator and a BSC621-2 C/Ku LNBF. Then VBox II positioner controller to move the dish.

Some wire mesh dishes have large holes in the mesh and can't receive Ku. So be sure it is C and Ku. Look up the specs for the dish on the manufacturer's web site. I got my 12 ft. dish used for $150.

Also installing a 12 ft. dish is a major construction project if you want it to stay put during high winds.