Pub Membership seeing Ads in Conversation Thread?

Discussion in 'SatelliteGuys Support Center' started by Foxbat, Jul 6, 2018.

  1. Foxbat

    Foxbat Topic Starter Addicted to new HW
    Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Posts:
    11,319
    Likes Received:
    3,311
    Location:
    Michiana
    Scott / Staff,
    I was composing a message in a Conversation with another SatelliteGuy when a pop-up Ad appeared between the last message in the conversation and the reply box where I was composing my new message. It disappeared before I could get a screen capture, but I was able to grab the code and while I was doing that screen grab, another ad for Red Box started.
    Screen Shot 2018-07-06 at 22.34.03 .png

    Edit: I tried adding the HTML for the google ad, but the Securi Firewall prevents me from adding it. See, even the Firewall knows it's SPAM!

    I had never seen this behavior before, so hopefully it's easily addressed. Hope this helps!
     
  2. Foxbat

    Foxbat Topic Starter Addicted to new HW
    Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Posts:
    11,319
    Likes Received:
    3,311
    Location:
    Michiana
    What's wrong now? Secure Firewall prevents my posts?
    Screen Shot 2018-07-06 at 23.06.58 .png
    Try that, Mr. Roboto!
     
  3. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    23,872
    Likes Received:
    4,187
    Location:
    EM75xb
    Scott knows about it. I told him on day one.
     
    Foxbat likes this.
  4. Foxbat

    Foxbat Topic Starter Addicted to new HW
    Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Posts:
    11,319
    Likes Received:
    3,311
    Location:
    Michiana
    Okay, it just freaked me out since I had never seen it before. Thanks!
     
  5. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    23,872
    Likes Received:
    4,187
    Location:
    EM75xb
    I guess I should mention, that "day one" is when this took place: Site Updated
     
  6. Foxbat

    Foxbat Topic Starter Addicted to new HW
    Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Posts:
    11,319
    Likes Received:
    3,311
    Location:
    Michiana
    Ah, that explains it, I don't think I'd been in a Conversation since the new terms took place. I normally use AdBlock and have SatelliteGuys.US disabled from Ad Blocking (for the Amazon posts, mostly) so I was able to activate AdBlock for the /Conversations folder tree. I didn't notice the extra space when I went back.
     
  7. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,087
    Likes Received:
    2,891
    Location:
    Montana
    I noticed the ads in conversations too. Not an issue for me but probably a headache for Scott.
     
  8. dare2be

    dare2be SatelliteGuys God
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Posts:
    11,229
    Likes Received:
    5,113
    Location:
    FL
    I think Foxbat is on to the fact that he isn't liked. :D
     
    Foxbat likes this.
  9. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Scanning the Skies!
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    95,997
    Likes Received:
    10,503
    Location:
    Newington, Connecticut
    Yup... when we did the update it broke the user group permissions for showing ads in conversations.

    We had this issue before, but the author of the ads plugin issued a fix for it. However I am not expecting a fix since Xenforo 2.0 is out and no plug in authors are supporting their plugin for the 1.x line anymore.

    I could update to Xenforo 2.0 but a lot of features we are use to here would be gone forever as many of them have not been converted to 2.0 and that ones that have been converted to 2.0 cost anywhere from $20 to $149 each, and unfortunately I don't have that kind of money at the momement. What we have no for the most part works and works well and I don't feel the need to upgrade just because for a system that don't really give us much new.
     
    Foxbat, TheKrell, FTA4PA and 3 others like this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...