quesitons about relocating my dishes

waltah

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Aug 22, 2009
NE Ohio
right now i have 2 dishes on my roof which i would like to bring down to ground level and pole mount. line of sight is perfectly clear where id like to move them. mainly because there are wires running down the side of my house from where they are mounted and i really just dont like them on the roof.

so my questions:

1) will dish charge me to move them off my roof

2) is it possible that i could do it myself? I was a field tech for my local cable company a few years ago and am very familiar with coax connections. so that isnt a concern. and i doubt id have and trouble mounting them. I have a 2 story deck that has a large beam i can bolt them to.

my only concern is re-aiming them per say. i have no clue how id get them peaked again.

You should get charged to have someone come out to move your Dish. You can move the dish on your own if you'd like but you may find it frusterating.

im pretty handy, can you elaborate on what would be frustrating?

the only thing that concerns me is pointing them after moving them.

No clue what you are talking about :) , hence the reason im worried about getting them pointed again.

is there somewhere that i can find that info within my receiver?

im pretty handy, can you elaborate on what would be frustrating?

the only thing that concerns me is pointing them after moving them.

Hi, if you are handy and don't mind spending some time learning how to setup and point the dishes I say go for it! The first thing to do is to go to dishpointer.com and enter your location then check the satellites you will be using. I don't have my dish receiver anymore but I think you can list the satellites in current use by hitting menu 6-1-1 or is that 6-1-3? Write done the satellites then go to dishpointer and check the new location you plan to use in your yard ( you can zoom way in and the X can be moved by dragging with the mouse).