Question on Built-In HD Tuner

Status
Not open for further replies.

dellt

Original poster
Feb 14, 2005
I'm just getting started with HDTV, and plan on purchasing a Panasonic TH-42PX25U/P Plasma TV in a week or so. It comes with Built-in NTSC Tuner for SDTV Standard Television and Built-in ATSC/QAM Tuner for HDTV Broadcasts.

I have already ordered a Triple LNB PT-Dish Elliptical Dish.
I am currently a subscriber with Directv and plan on adding the HD package as soon as I receive my TV. My question is, will I be able to receive HD on the TV using the built-in ATSC Tuner, or will I still have to purchase a stand-a-lone Sat. HD Receiver? If I will need a Directv Receiver, then I may opt to use the difference in price and go for the Panasonic 50" Plasma without any tuners. Been such a hassle trying to decide what to buy.

If I still need to buy another tuner in order to receive HD programing, then what good is the built-in tuner?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Dell

The tuner picks up OTA HD as well and any unencoded QAM signals your cable company sends.

On my cable company I see almost all of their HD channels, plus I see a bunch of Digital Cable channels, all the Audio Channels carried by the cable company plus I can watch all the Video on Demand channels as well. :)

If you have satellite you will need their HD STB which I believe have the OTA tuners in them already at least mine does, but I have Dish Network.

Scott Greczkowski said:
unencoded QAM signals
Not to nitpick, Scott, but that is sort of an oxymoron... :) How about "unencrypted QAM signals". ;)
Scott Greczkowski said:
On my cable company I see almost all of their HD channels, plus I see a bunch of Digital Cable channels, all the Audio Channels carried by the cable company plus I can watch all the Video on Demand channels as well. :)
Sounds like another great source of content to be considered, FTC, "Free-To-Cable" :D