R.I.P. Amiko Nano

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by RT-Cat, May 13, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RT-Cat

    RT-Cat Topic Starter "My person-well trained" Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Posts:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    Cold, Cold,Michigan USA
    After a billionzillion hours of operation my Amiko Nano died last night. So now I need suggestions on what I should look for to replace that wonderful unit. What I need to make my current setup work without great modification is a unit with both HDMI and AV output. Ideas?
     
  2. VE2FCZ

    VE2FCZ SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Posts:
    48
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    St Rémi Quebec Canada
    I had an AzBoxMinime that went dead when upgrading with the 2.20 firmware.
    So i bought the Manhattan DJ 1997 HD and this is by far the best receiver i ever had.
    Fast blind scan, fast channel change, front panel USB port to backup your settings and channel list on a usb key, and also record your programs on a usb key and playback later, and the picture quality is exellent.
    This unit (has both HDMI and AV output)
     
  3. RT-Cat

    RT-Cat Topic Starter "My person-well trained" Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Posts:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    Cold, Cold,Michigan USA
    With the number of views and only your post, I was wondering if anyone had a receiver anymore. Interesting that your post was on the same receiver that I have been researching today. Looks interesting and your good comments will help.
    Thanks.
     
  4. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,522
    Likes Received:
    4,887
    Location:
    EM75xb
    Been out of town all day, so just kinda skimming over via mobile. I would look at the linkbox 9000i also.
     
    danristheman likes this.
  5. RT-Cat

    RT-Cat Topic Starter "My person-well trained" Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Posts:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    Cold, Cold,Michigan USA
    I found something.
    Thanks for the comments.
     
  6. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,522
    Likes Received:
    4,887
    Location:
    EM75xb
    So what did you end up with?
     
  7. RT-Cat

    RT-Cat Topic Starter "My person-well trained" Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Posts:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    Cold, Cold,Michigan USA
    I went with the Manhattan DJ-1997. Looks like it will do the job. My "old" TV does not have HDMI inputs so the optical sound out can go to my Onkyo amp. I convert the HDMI to DVI that is on the old TV. Since the Amiko Nano did not have optical out, I had to use the L/R sound. So I should get a little better sound on the HD channels.
    That little Nano ran 24 hours a day for a long, long time. It was a great unit.
     
  8. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,522
    Likes Received:
    4,887
    Location:
    EM75xb
    I think you will be happy with the Manhattan.

    Curious what do you think happen to the nano?
    Will it power on at all? Just flat out dead, dead?
     
  9. RT-Cat

    RT-Cat Topic Starter "My person-well trained" Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Posts:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    Cold, Cold,Michigan USA
    Came home the other day after working with a friend on his new OTA antenna(another cord cutter)and the Nano was not working. Checked it out and it was cold and very dead. Will not do anything.
     
  10. danristheman

    danristheman SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    3,061
    Likes Received:
    1,061
    Location:
    85w
    Could it be the power supply since no lights at all. I have a nano also only some little problems so far.
     
    Lone Gunman and fred555 like this.
  11. RT-Cat

    RT-Cat Topic Starter "My person-well trained" Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Posts:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    Cold, Cold,Michigan USA
    I have always got a "kick" out of manuals in the trouble shooting areas that state "is it plugged in"? That was the first item I checked. I did crack it open to look for a hidden fuse. I have fixed things in the past that had a hidden fuse, but nothing found inside. I don't have the expertise to fix beyond that point. I can say I did find some(many)of the smallest parts ever. It had more running hours than I can count. So I can not complain much on it passing away.
     
  12. fred555

    fred555 Pub Member Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Posts:
    7,930
    Likes Received:
    6,834
    Location:
    77W
    Does this model have a wall transformer? Is it putting out any voltage?
     
  13. RT-Cat

    RT-Cat Topic Starter "My person-well trained" Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Posts:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    Cold, Cold,Michigan USA
    Yes it does, yes it is.
     
    fred555 likes this.
  14. fred555

    fred555 Pub Member Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Posts:
    7,930
    Likes Received:
    6,834
    Location:
    77W
    Is voltage showing up on +V pin(S) on the processor?
    is it an ALi3612?
     
  15. RT-Cat

    RT-Cat Topic Starter "My person-well trained" Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Posts:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    Cold, Cold,Michigan USA
    Fred555,
    That is information for the real smart guys to come up with. I don't fall into that group.:(
     
  16. fred555

    fred555 Pub Member Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Posts:
    7,930
    Likes Received:
    6,834
    Location:
    77W
    Sorry. Would you part with the broken Nano?
     
  17. RT-Cat

    RT-Cat Topic Starter "My person-well trained" Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Posts:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    Cold, Cold,Michigan USA
    Not a problem Fred555. Some of us come without a lot of memory chips. That is the way it is.
    A member here has already ask for the dead unit. Problem I have is not finding the remote. I put everything into my Pronto Pro and store the remotes. This one is hiding somewhere in the house. Still looking for it.
     
    raydio likes this.
  18. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,522
    Likes Received:
    4,887
    Location:
    EM75xb
    Yes it does Fred.
     
  19. fred555

    fred555 Pub Member Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Posts:
    7,930
    Likes Received:
    6,834
    Location:
    77W
    I inadvertently deleted the post with the picture of the remote.

    For the other member, those are still available, like ebay etc...

    RT-Cat, If something changes let me know, I don't care about the missing remote, as I already have 3 of them.


    Missing post that KE4EST responded to was:

    I this the remote it uses?

    RC-HD-228x228.jpg
     
  20. RT-Cat

    RT-Cat Topic Starter "My person-well trained" Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Posts:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    Cold, Cold,Michigan USA
    Well, it has been so long since I used that remote, I'm not sure. It matches any info in a web search for this unit as to when it was new and being sold. As we know the web never forgets stuff. Still looking here.....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Separate names with a comma.

More...