remotely control my 4 foot dish motor

Status
Please reply by conversation.

RidgeRunner

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
May 30, 2005
Raymond, Maine, United States
Ok I have been a member here for a bit but mostly a reader. Heres the deal my property is too wooded and not in an ideal location for FTA reception. I have a 4 foot channel master dish with the polar mount and motor. I also have a BUD with everything I need. Now I have the ability to use a wireless LAN (commercial grade stuff on 5.6 gig) to set one of these dishes up with a FTA receiver that goes into a PC. So I can connect to this PC watch what I want. Problem is how do I control these dishes remotely??? I know if I had one of those small H-H motors that wouldnt be an issue. Any help here guys???

Bob

uhh

Uhh I may have answer my own question, by reading some more, but a v-box 2 sounds like the ticket. B/c I need to be able to have everything work from a remote location. I would love to hear the input!

If the dish has an actuator & polar mount, the VBox II will work so you can control the dish with a regular DVB box or PC card

thanks

This will just control my east to west posistions correct? I will have to change polarity via the software correct...unlike a pansat with a say 36" dish.

I am currently looking at the DVB world box.

does the LNB have 3 wires coming off of it (red white black)?

if it does, then you would need an analog box to change polarity

If its a regualr LNB then the reciever controls the polarity

Well what I have on this kaul-tronics 7 footer is two lnbs from what I can tell one is a norsat 6600a (KU) and the other is a calamp 140078 (c band I assume). Both of them are mounted to a Chapparrel and those wires you mention appear to go into a blue box.

Am I better off taking the whole unit off and getting the C/ku unit that is sold by sadoun?...I thought I read in the review that there were some issues with KU operation.