RG59 Cable and the 722. Dish says it will burn up!

jborchel

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Sep 27, 2006
The Dish tech showed up today with a 722 to install and said I could not use my RG59 house cabling for the connection. He said it would overheat and burn up the cable. Of course, I didn't believe him so we called Dish and talked to tech support. The tech said that the 722 antenna feed is 22 Mhz and that was too much for the RG59 to handle and that it might work at first but that eventually it would burn up.

Now I'm not an electrical engineer but this sounds like hogwash to me. However, the real expertise is on this forum so I'm asking the question here. Is this true?

Jack

The issue might be the DC current that runs to the LNB. The DISHPro LNBs run at a higher voltage than the legacy ones and as such, more current flows.

The Core and Sheath of the RG59 is about 1/2 or less of that for RG6. I could see it getting warm over a long run.

RG59 might not handle the high frequencies required for Dish Pro or Dish Pro Plus, RG6 will. Have it replaced or you're gonna run into nothing but trouble.

No way in hell you can diplex on that 59.

So you would have to run a direct line to your tv2.

The tech knows wht he is talking about, so why didn't he just run new cable?

The issue is mostly one of current carrying capacity (ampacity) as DISH_NC suggests. RG59, due to its smaller center conductor, has about 70% the ampacity of RG6. The LNBs need pretty much all that RG6 can provide.

Nothing's going to burn up. The difference in DC resistance between two 100 foot runs of coax cable, one RG59 the other RG6, is only a couple of Ohms and unlikely to be of any consequence for most installations. The larger issue is the higher frequencies used with DishPro installations. At 2250 MHz the insertion loss will be excessive in any poor to average quality RG59 and to prevent signal strength problems RG6 is the cable of choice now.