Status
Please reply by conversation.

Claude Greiner

SatelliteGuys Master
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Sep 8, 2003
Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
I recently had AT&T Fiber installed and the speeds are absolutely amazing. I’m averaging 940 up and down.

I recently got 1 Gig Comcast installed at the office which is about 950 down and 35 up.

I was wondering if it was possible if I setup a VPN connection if I could get a client to work over an internet connection.

Not trying to steal service as I got a paid subscription at home and a showroom demo at the office.

However more of do you think it would work?

I can convert the coax on the clients to eithernet with decca adaptors

I recently had AT&T Fiber installed and the speeds are absolutely amazing. I’m averaging 940 up and down.

I recently got 1 Gig Comcast installed at the office which is about 950 down and 35 up.

I was wondering if it was possible if I setup a VPN connection if I could get a client to work over an internet connection.

Not trying to steal service as I got a paid subscription at home and a showroom demo at the office.

However more of do you think it would work?

I can convert the coax on the clients to eithernet with decca adaptors

Yes. I have done this to watch stuff off of my HS17 through the Directv app.

Yes. I have done this to watch stuff off of my HS17 through the Directv app.
But I think what Claude is asking here is different, where he wants a DIRECTV client RVU connectivity to a remote Genie server over a VPN connection.

I don't think that's possible. In fact RVU IP connectivity is not even DHCP managed, but uses 169.254.x.x APIPA type arrangement for "link-local" addressing of the server and its RVU clients.

Reactions: harshness
But I think what Claude is asking here is different, where he wants a DIRECTV client RVU connectivity to a remote Genie server over a VPN connection.