RV looking for new satellite service and equip advice

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Captain George

Original poster
Jul 29, 2014
I am now living in my RV, sold the home.
I would like satellite tv service and possible internet.
My dilemma is Dish or Direct?
What is good but economical equipment.
I found a used Tailgater but I'm hesident to purchase it not knowing if it will work on both networks.
Any recommendations, opinions and help will be appreciated
Thanks in advance

:welcome to Satelliteguys Captain George!

I have no experience with RV equipment, but I'm sure someone that does will post soon enough.

Since you are posting on a DirecTV forum, can I assume you have a preference for DirecTV? Or are you posting on both Dish and DirecTV forums?

Same as if you were in your stick house, the first question you have to answer is which service provides the programming you want to see? That is the main question.

Then it matters which kind of RV you have. If you have a motorhome you may be interested in an in-motion system. If you have a trailer or fiver, in-motion is basically off the table.

Then you sort of have to come to grips with whether or not HD is important to you. Part of this decision will be driven by the type of TVs you have in your RV.

What kind of wiring exists in your RV? Or, equally important, what make, model and year is your RV? (If it is older like mine-- 2003 Beaver Patriot -- all the wiring is R59 which is really not up to snuff for some of today's technology.) So, an answer to this question will help too.

Now that you have these decisions in-hand you can start to think about equipment. If you want in-motion HD you better like the Dish offerings. Because, at the current time (and foreseeable future) in-motion HD for DirecTV is not in the cards.

Anyway. Before we get into equipment options, can you answer the first four questions for us? That will point to a provider, equipment options and other issues to consider in your quest.