Satellite Inet or Wireless Broadband?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

andreah1

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Nov 28, 2005
I'm seriously trying to compare what would be the best for my household. We live in rural upstate/central New York. The only internet I can aquire is dial up(no way), mobile broadband or satellite. I've been using mobile broadband for quite a few years now, by plugging the usb modem into an inside antenna I get "good enough" service for at least 1/2 the year. Once the leaves start sprouting it gets sketchy and slow. I've been told I can put up a small tower, etc (yeah right) to make the service better. Our closest celltower is about 4 miles away. For the most part I'm ok with it, but get super frustrated in spring/summer. I go over my 5gb data cap because I'm constantly reloading pages due to the trees blocking signal, etc.
So, thought satellite might be the answer but I don't know many people around that have it to ask and I'm not the type of person to go knocking on someone's door if I see a dish on their roof to ask them how they like their service, I'm likely to end up with a gun in my face, ha ha. My biggest curiosity (which may seem petty to most) is playing games. I don't play any of the big time 2-3 person games, etc. I'm talking facebook games, like bejeweled blitz, various slots, zuma, stuff like that. Would the lag in signal cause the games to run funky? What IS the actual lag time? Wondering if getting down to the last few seconds on an ebay auction would knock me out because of lag. Does anyone have satellite and play any of the mentioned games and notice any problems?