Satlink WS-6908 Satellite Finder

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by ggilbert, Sep 15, 2012.

  1. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,308
    Likes Received:
    1,374
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Welcome to Satellite Guys Krzysiek! :)
     
    Krzysiek likes this.
  2. Joe DC

    Joe DC SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Posts:
    100
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Cana,Va
    I'll need your email address to forward the satellite file. You can PM me if you wish.
     
    rafus likes this.
  3. christiank

    christiank Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lübeck, Germany
    Just tried, doesnt work!
     
  4. christiank

    christiank Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lübeck, Germany
    ... same here. No hint at the Moment.
     
  5. christiank

    christiank Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lübeck, Germany
    Got the WS6908P a few days ago. Had to return the first one, but got replacement in advance. (Great Service, thanks to hs-group Germany).
    Everthing seemed to work fine, the unit offered even a USALS Option.
    But then i connected my motordriven dish that covers satellites from 42° east to 30° west. First i selected the most easterly satellite turksat on 42° E. Well, the dish moved eastward. Then hellassat on 39° E. The dish moved further east, despite it should go westward. When i tried nilsat on 007° west the dish stopped at the 0° position, no Chance to point to a satellite west from the center position.
    This seems to be a common problem, even the distributor had no solution. May be a prob in the calculation, or in the satellitetable.
    I tried to read the table with CTK V 1.25, but this meter uses a newer format of sattable. Any hint ?
     
  6. christiank

    christiank Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lübeck, Germany
    Got the WS6908P a few days ago. Had to return the first one, but got replacement in advance. (Great Service, thanks to hs-group Germany).
    Everthing seemed to work fine, the unit offered even a USALS Option.
    But then i connected my motordriven dish that covers satellites from 42° east to 30° west. First i selected the most easterly satellite turksat on 42° E. Well, the dish moved eastward. Then hellassat on 39° E. The dish moved further east, despite it should go westward. When i tried nilsat on 007° west the dish stopped at the 0° position, no Chance to point to a satellite west from the center position.
    This seems to be a common problem, even the distributor had no solution. May be a prob in the calculation, or in the satellitetable.
    I tried to read the table with CTK V 1.25, but this meter uses a newer format of sattable. Any hint ?
    Software Version is V-2.71a-RDA
     
  7. christiank

    christiank Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lübeck, Germany
    Update: Looks like the WS6908P uses a Cheertek CT216S chip. Is there any newer Version of CTK db tool V 1.25 avaliable ? Any hint?
    Surprising is the Notation of the westerly satellites, instead of the common 7°W they use 353° E. Ok, its a full circle counterclockwise / backing from absolute south. Looks like this doesnt work anyway. Any hint?
    Whats about the "header error" ? Even modifying the original (saved) satlist without changing the Header causes this error on upload to the meter. Any hint?
     
  8. rafus

    rafus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, CAN
    Joe DC , I know this for the ws6908 but I just got the ws6906, sorry for posting in here!
    Do you have the file for the ws6906 and if that so, can you please send me the file with American satellites for WS-6906 ? As well if there is any software update will be real good!!
    I've already PM you with my email address.
    Thank you !
    Rafus
     
    #48 rafus, Sep 30, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 30, 2015
  9. Joe DC

    Joe DC SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Posts:
    100
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Cana,Va
    Sorry the file only works for the WS6908.
    Joe
     
  10. edconltd H Hoffman

    edconltd H Hoffman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Loouisburg, NC
     
  11. edconltd H Hoffman

    edconltd H Hoffman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Loouisburg, NC
     
  12. Joe Quinn

    Joe Quinn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    El Toro
    I have a WS6908, maybe v1, so I need this file too. Could you send me a copy?
    Sorry, I'm a newbie and don't know how to PM to you.
    Thanks in advance.
    Joe Quinn
     
    #52 Joe Quinn, Mar 7, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2016
  13. robertmoo

    robertmoo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    valleyview alberta canada
    can you send me the file too joe, I have the ws-6908 don't have north American satellites on it so can you send me the file software to add the satellite
     
  14. robertmoo

    robertmoo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    valleyview alberta canada
    can you send me the file please
     
  15. Joe DC

    Joe DC SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Posts:
    100
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Cana,Va
    The file is quite outdated and has only FTA satellites. It can get you started anyway. If you can PM me with your email address I can send it to you.
     
  16. robertmoo

    robertmoo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    valleyview alberta canada
    thanks for the reply joe, my location is in Canada how would I go about adding north American satellites on my satlink ws-6908 can you send me a video or instructions on how to do this thanks
     
  17. robertmoo

    robertmoo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    valleyview alberta canada
    rmoostoos at hotmail.com is my email address
     
    #57 robertmoo, Jul 25, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 25, 2016
  18. kieths

    kieths New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Joe, I have ordered a WS-6908 based on good reviews and price.
    Then I stumbled on info about the North America Satellites not being included.

    Could you please send me an email as well for the N/A file, and possibly the editor?
    I believe I can reply to a PM (new user), but I can't initiate a PM.
     
  19. rick littmann

    rick littmann New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    fl usa
    please send the file to me .I just got the meter ws 6906 i need the sat for dish network hybrid sat 72.7 and 61.5 i live in fl. thank you email is rick.littmann@gmail.com
     
  20. Joe DC

    Joe DC SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Posts:
    100
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Cana,Va
    The N America Sat file is only valid for the WS-6908 and only includes FTA sats.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...