SD picture quality

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

Jeff_in_MA

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
May 21, 2004
I have been enjoying Voom for a couple of months. All the HD channels are spectacular but many SD channels such as CNN, ESPN look much worse compared to cable channels. In particular, any deep red area on CNN always have bright sparkles running horizontally. Does anyone see the same problem? ESPN just looks blurry or not as crisp as the that on cable.

Thanks,

I just got Voom last Thursday and I noticed the same thing. It seemed like regular cable has better SD signal than Voom. The local OTA channels through Voom seem to have better pq than the SD channels on Voom. I think it has to do with the way Voom was built. Since it was build from the ground up for HD, they didn't initially concentrate on SD channels so those were neglected in the end.

BTW: The HD channels are great.

I think it varies, my SD is a good bit better than my cable is, but I think I'm at the end of the line, I had to add a pre 2-way split before my 8-way because my cable modem would never come online, the power was too low...

How does Voom's SD compare to Directv's SD? I currently have Directv and have Voom coming next week. Directv's SD looks grainy on my 52" RPTV but that's to be expected.

My VOOM looked the same, horizontal dashes all over saturated color areas. I just droppped it and got cable and the cable looks much better, both analog and digital SD.

VOOM's SD quality is nowhere near as good as my local Comcast, although comparable or slightly better than what I had with Dish Network.