Setting Up second Dish for RV use with BEV 9242 PVR

DCinBC

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Dec 30, 2007
Hi,

:confused:

We have a Bell 9242 PVR set up at home. We want to take this in our RV, but when a friendly technician offered to do this for $180 I thought that a bit high. I have a newish Bell dish that has one LNB. The technician was going to use that dish and add 1 more LNB. He was then going to put in two SW-21 (I think, but they were $35 each) that combined the two feeds. We plan on really only having 1 TV in the RV, and wonder what I can do to make this work? I currently have the Bell dish with 1 LNB with two output cables both labeled SAT 91. If my comments / questions seem raw, its because I am a newbie (but tech junkie)...

Questions:

Can I just use the 1 LNB dish to make things usable? What is needed to record / watch?
Can I use any coax cable to connect to the LNB's 2 outputs (they were cut off) or are these special cables?

My RV only has one input plug on the wall, so can I use those switches if I find them cheaper to "make do".

Should I take the Power Inserter with me?

My PVR doesn't seem to like 1 input only, would this be hard on it?

Remember the 9242 PVR has 2 inputs, so could I split the signal into the 2 inputs on the receiver and have the second one as record only?

Thanks,
DC

Last edited:
If you can oly use one cable you can get a Dish Pro Plus Twin LNB. All you need is one cable fed from the LNB, and at the receiver end you use a DPP Seperator. Read the attached file for more info.

Attachments

• dpptwin.pdf
    699.8 KB · Views: 229
  • dpptwinl.jpg
    dpptwinl.jpg
    19.5 KB · Views: 248
  • dppseparatorl.jpg
    dppseparatorl.jpg
    21.7 KB · Views: 238
Hmmm, any ideas where I can find the Dish Pro Plus Twin LNB in Vancouver Island BC? Thanks,

- One simpler solution that you may want to consider. . .

(1) Get a dual LNBF for your legacy dish, and run the two lines back to your receiver;