Should an LNB be hot to touch in the shade?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

wavebender

Original poster
Jul 11, 2010
TeXas
All,

I am a NOOB with a recently acquired PANSAT 150, SG2100, and Fortec 80cm dish with stock fortec standard LNB.

The dish and LNB are a $45 find on craigslist. The rest of the gear is brand spanking new including triple shielded RG6 cables with premade ends.

I have some concerns abou the LNB. As I cannot seem to tune in a signal. I am trying to tune in galaxy 19 (my southern most sat); I get about 85% signal strength with ZERO quality.

I fooled around with different settings and satellites which did not change status. After several hours of no luck I packed up my gear for another day. When I unscrewed the RG6 from the LNB I noticed the the F connector and the entire LNB was noticably hot.... even after minutes of having the receiver off.
The cover the the LNB input has sun rotted away. Peering in I see no obvious shorting or debris. Just a pin-like wire situated in the center of the LNB.

This is my first experience with sat gear and while I don't think it unreasonable for a powered device such as LNB to generate heat it seemed very hot... just short of burning... So I am concerned but lack the experience to fully evaluate what I'm dealing with.

Any trouble shooting advice is much appreciated to verify the integrity of the LNB.

Best Regards,

Wave

I assume your trying to get ku-band,in your options menu what do you
have the lnb set to. LNB Type: UNIVERSAL - Low: 9750, High: 10600).If you are using a "Standard" LNBF, then low:0 and High: 10750. hope this helps