Some newbie questions

Status
Please reply by conversation.

lovesthewild

Original poster
Dec 13, 2007
Hey sattellite guys,

I'm new to sattellite and have not ordered directv yet but will before the end of the year because of the deals they are currently marketing. I have a 46 inch Samsung HD TV on the way and will be here by next week. Here are some newbie questions (thanks for any/all answers ahead of time),

1) There is a choice of HD or DVR receiver that is free (after instant rebate). What criteria do I use to make a choice? Since the TV is a new HD one, do I really need an HD receiver? Isn't that built in or is that only for over the air type antennas?

2) If I was to choose the DVR, does that already include an HD receiver, or would I really have to go for the HD-DVR to get both? In other words, if I add the $9.99 HD package (why wouldn't I), then do I need either the HD receiver or HD-DVR? I assume the basic DVR that comes free would not be adequate? True? Is it really a matter of just whether or not I want to record in HD or not?

3) Can I hook up a normal old VCR and record channels that are not in HD? What happens when you record HD channels (or is this even possible and the only way to do it is using a DVR)?

4) If I choose only an HD receiver (since I am assuming that I need one but maybe not), can I add a DVR later and not purchase from Directv? I'm not a fan of shelling out an additional $199.00 at start up time but maybe that's the best option. Definitely looking for opinions on this one. I would assume that, even if I didn't opt for a DVR up front, I could add one (either the one from Directv or another one) at a later date. I also assume that I still would have to activate the additional DVR montly server as well. (Ah, so many choices, so little knowledge).