Some real basic questions before I buy...

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Backwoods Montana

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Mar 19, 2009
Western Montana
OK , I'm new at this and I've tried to make sense out of all of the jargon and abbreviations, types and bands, azimuths and etc.

I'm disgusted with Dish Network, don't much care for most of the commercial network stuff anyway, so I want to get rid of it and get FTA. Since I watch Montana PBS most of the time, and it's available FTA, I guess this is a good way to go. Just in case my wife wants to watch something different, it's probably a good idea to get something to switch to a different satellite. We like the ability to record, skip back on live TV, and watch HDTV. For the record, I'm in rural western Montana, and have a pretty good view of the southern sky within 50 ft and a better view within 400 ft.

From what I can tell, everything we would want is on AMC 21, Galaxy 18 and maybe AMC 9.

Here's the package that I'm looking at. I don't know if its overkill or not enough, good or crummy, so I would appreciate ANY input anyone has.

(since the rules say that I can't post url's, I hope you can find it like this)
Its from GOSatellite, and its called "Viewsat Max HD STATIONARY FTA System #3"

All from GO Satellite.com, because their site seems to be the easiest to understand.

I still don't understand about dish sizes and LNB's. Are multiple LNB's used so you don't have to have something that physically moves the dish to another satellite?

Also, will any hard drive work, like the Western Digital that I use for my computer back-up?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give.

Well, one dish will not be enough. You will need:

• A separate dish for each satellite.
  • Each dish should have a dual output LNBF.
  • If multiple rooms, you will need a receiver for each room.
  • 4-Way DiSEqC switch for each receiver