Starting Over

Status
Please reply by conversation.

mike_mcs

Original poster
Mar 8, 2012
NJ
I doubt this is new to you guys but I could use a little guidance. Back in the 90s I had several BUDs at different houses over the years. Back when "Green Sheets" was the main information show and videocypher was king. Last one was a 10' with Uniden working the C band. Never had much trouble setting them up (electronics has always been my hobby and I work on computers for a living) but lost interest for a while. I'm looking to get back in to it as a hobby and always liked the raw news fees and the "wild feeds" but have a few questions.

1. Are the news and wild feeds on the FTA channels and are they free.

2. I recently got a brand new 10' Orbitron dish still in the box from the late 90s with a H2H mount. What do I need to make this work? I suspect the feed horn is outdated and I will need a receiver. Hope to keep this adventure under $500.00 for now.

If anyone is interested I live in New Jersey and have a 10' dish with a C-band horn in good shape I'd like to give away to make room for the new one I just got from a friend.

If you still have the old receiver, keep it to move the dish and polorator. The microHD for near $125 is the hottest receiver right now, developed on this forum by and for FTA'ers. Yes wild feeds are still around, but I do not chase them ----- yet. Oh yes, welcome to Satellite guys

1. Are the news and wild feeds on the FTA channels and are they free.

Plenty of feeds up there. Most news feeds are on Ku-Band, so you'd want a separate Ku-Band dish (30 inches up to 1.2 meters). You could use a combo C/Ku LNBF on the big dish, but these always seem to involve a trade-off on reception of one band or the other.

Many C-Band feeds up there as well.