Stumped with my TV tuner...

Snoob

Original poster
Mar 29, 2008
Hell and thanx in advance to anyone that can help...
So I bought the ATI Tv pro 650 (usb) tuner. and I can't for the life of me get it to work. I have never used one before.
The Catalyst software that it comes with is kind of "meh", so I'm trying to use it through Windows Media Center, and I get to the point in the installation where it seems to recognize the tuner and stuff, but on the next part a message tells me WMC cannot find the software necessary to control set top box....The tuner came with an IR sensor that will control Media Center but how do I get media center to talk to my set-top box?

Forgot to mention the signal im trying to use is from a Dish DVR reciever in my daughters bedroom upstairs, all i did was split her outgoing signal to her tv... please help

The Catalyst software that it comes with is kind of "meh", so I'm trying to use it through Windows Media Center, and I get to the point in the installation where it seems to recognize the tuner and stuff, but on the next part a message tells me WMC cannot find the software necessary to control set top box....The tuner came with an IR sensor that will control Media Center but how do I get media center to talk to my set-top box?
You have started at the end and are working backwards without knowing if there are any show-stoppers in the middle.

What model receiver is in your daughter's room?

If you know it will work with IR, have you set up an IR extender that will reach it (the WMC can't control what it can't see with its IR transmitter)?

This would likely be a whole lot easier if you started at the WMC end filling in all of the blanks (like what kind of receiver you're controlling) and worked towards the bedroom.

Thanx to both of you for the responses, I appreciate any help I can get at this point .
And I suppose you're right I did leave a few holes in the story Harsh.