Terk HDTVi, Silver Sensor, or Paper Clip?

alan_techcentral

Original poster
Sep 11, 2006
Hi,

I am a newbie and so I know very little about OTA HD. From what I understand, the Silver Sensor is one of the market's best indoor UHF antenna but it unfortunately lacks VHF acceptance.

* yellow - uhf XETV-DT 6.1 FOX TIJUANA MX 143° 28.3 23
* yellow - uhf KFMB-DT 8.1 CBS SAN DIEGO CA 182° 2.7 55
* yellow - uhf KGTV-DT 10.1 ABC SAN DIEGO CA 183° 2.7 25
* yellow - uhf KPBS-DT 15.1 PBS SAN DIEGO CA 111° 21.4 30
* yellow - uhf KNSD-DT 39.1 NBC SAN DIEGO CA 112° 21.4 40
* yellow - uhf KSWB-DT 5.1 CW SAN DIEGO CA 113° 21.0 19
* lt green - uhf KUSI-DT 51.1 IND SAN DIEGO CA 112° 21.4 18

Non-Digital (just to name a few):
yellow - vhf KFMB 8 CBS SAN DIEGO CA 182° 2.7 8
yellow - vhf KGTV 10 ABC SAN DIEGO CA 183° 2.7 10
yellow - uhf K35DG 35 IND LA JOLLA CA 183° 2.6 35
yellow - uhf XHDTV 49 MNT TIJUANA BC 126° 51.1 49
yellow - uhf KPBS 15 PBS SAN DIEGO CA 111° 21.4 15
yellow - uhf KUSI 51 IND SAN DIEGO CA 111° 21.4 51
yellow - uhf KNSD 39 NBC SAN DIEGO CA 112° 21.4 39
yellow - uhf KSWB 69 CW SAN DIEGO CA 113° 21.0 69
green - vhf XETV 6 FOX TIJUANA MX 143° 28.3 6

My questions are:
1. Will a paper clip get me HD reception (sorry for asking again, I didn't get a lot of feedback from the other post)

2. If not, and if I want to get as many channels as I can (analog + digital), should I get a Terk HDTVi instead of a Zenith Silver Sensor since the Terk has VHF reception. How is it that ithe Silver Sensor is better than the Terk HDTVi, since they both look alike? Would the VHF reception be well worth it (would it be clear for analog signals)?

3. If I end up getting the Silver Sensor, I probably won't be able to get the local channels very clearly (on the analog VHF signals). If that is the case, would I be able to enjoy the same broadcast on its digital counterpart.