Tivo Conversion

Choochie

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Aug 16, 2004
Indpls, In.
Newbie here with an moded Tivo with twin 160 Gigers.

Whats the best way to intigrate the Tivo with the Voom receiver?

C

Since this is the DirecTV forum I am thinking you must have a DirecTV DVR. If this is the case you can't. Tivo SA units fully support all of the Voom SD programming and as you would expect none of the HD.

slacker9876 said:
Since this is the DirecTV forum I am thinking you must have a DirecTV DVR. If this is the case you can't. Tivo SA units fully support all of the Voom SD programming and as you would expect none of the HD.

Incorrect -

TiVO records all of Voom's HD content just fine.

JEFFinINDY said:
Incorrect -

Not incorrect ... there is not a TiVo on the market that can record HD, except the HD DirecTiVo which only work OTA and with DirecTV :D

I didn't asay it would not record HD content ... I said it would not record HD!

JEFFinINDY said:
Incorrect -

I'm gonna asume that the Tivo is connected through the output of the Voom. If this is the case I am not gaining anything buy doing so, for I have dual LNA's for two Tivo's

And Mr Tivo Guru did the upgrade to 160's for me as well...

Sure the HD programing is ok, DVD quality at best, but as far as the lack of the ability to record programing, Voom has a tad catchin up to do...

I have too many programs that are on at the same time, thus my reason for acquiring the second Tivo...

Help, if thats possible to use the Tivo model SD-DVR40

This model does not have the componet input nor output. So I'm gonna assume one must have the Hi Def Tivo Receiver....

Am I even gettin close?

Frankly, the HD quality of Voom is jus near DVD quality, thus I find it hard to justify the $52.34 for 21 channels in HI Def

Tivo vs. Voom

slacker9876 said:
U assume correctly. But I'm not givin up my Tivo's for Voom just yet...

Granted Voom is a relatively new company, but IMHO they shoulda been ready for the DVR....