Trouble Aiming 1000.2 Dish

Corey Gilles

Original poster
Jul 31, 2014
Guys I am new at the RV thing. I recently purchased a Vip 211z and a 1000.2 on a tripod to use for my RV.
I am currently in Hampstead, NC 28443 (zip) trying to aim my dish for the first time and getting frustrated.
The first question I have is that I seem to get conflicting numbers from my dish receiver and dishpointer.com
I originally tried pointing my dish with the numbers from the receiver when you go under menu 6,1,1 for dish point. I use my zip, dish 500, transponder 11 and sat 119. The numbers it gives me are Elevation 34, Az 239, Skew 131. Dishpointer.com for this exact location gives El 30.9 Az 246.6, Skew 44.0
Skew is completely different and I am not sure which one to use. Ive tried both but still having trouble.
Basically I can get locked on to 119W, but cant get anything from 110 or 129.
I have one of the analog signal meters which does seem to help me find the first satellite, but no matter how much i try and fine tune I cant get the other 2.
Am I getting the correct satellite? Maybe im locking onto 119 with the wrong LNB. How can i tell?
I tried the foil over the outer 2 LNB's and I am still showing locked on 119. Remove the foil and no change.
Also when I am aiming the dish after it is skewed I should be looking at the mounting brackets on the back of the dish where it mounts to the tripod right? Not where the LNB's are pointing?
Any help would be appreciated.

I seem to be repeating myself. Oh, I am.
In eight years I have never had to tweak the Skew. Set it to the desired valve and leave it alone.
The numbers you get from a receiver are for a DPP 500 dish and are wrong for a DPP 1000.2. Trust the DPP 1000.2 manual or go to dishpointer.com, being ssssure to select the Multi-LNBF Dish 1000.2 (110W, 119W, 129W)

On the Switch Check screen, the satellites should be 119 - 110 - 129