TV2 HD OTA and vip-722

spinnell71

Original poster
Feb 15, 2009
San Diego
I have TV2 hooked up to upstairs bedroom VCR/projector where mainly my wife watches TV in SD (480i). I would like to get OTA HD instead of buying another Dish receiver (maybe I'll buy another DISH receiver in May with annual upgrade). Anyway, I bought a Toshiba DR560 1080p Upconverting DVD Recorder with Built-in Tuner. Not sure how this will work but I was thinking of hooking it inline to the Toshiba coax input for RF to HDMI conversion (projector doesn not have coax input). I'm not sure how to get HD OTA. Maybe I have to buy an antenna and splitter both to go directly into Toshiba coax input. I am a newbie any help is much appreciated.

Thanks,

Sean

Do you already have an antenna hooked into your 722 and do you still wish to access the 722 from the bedroom?

theDR560 has no HD tuner, only a digital tuner

Does this mean I will not get true HD 1080 but something like 720??

Do you already have an antenna hooked into your 722 and do you still wish to access the 722 from the bedroom?

I do not believe I have an OTA antenna hooked into 722. Can I hook up one and watch OTA HD up in bedroom TV2?

Can I hook up one and watch OTA HD up in bedroom TV2?
The 722 has 3 HD tuners: 1 satellite and 1 OTA (ATSC) controllable via the TV1 remote, and another satellite tuner controllable by the TV2 remote. There is a peculiarity in the firmware. You cannot control the OTA tuner nor view any channel in real time on the TV2 output. You are forced into setting up a recording on TV1. :( Only when a recording is in progress or completed can you view it from TV2.

Note that the TV2 outputs are SD-only. When playing back HD content, it will be downconverted to SD.