Two Degrees of Separation

Status
Please reply by conversation.

JackKnife

Original poster
Dec 22, 2005
First let me say I'm glad I finally found this site. Trying to get info on legitimate FTA reception is rather difficult with most everybody wanting to pirate DISH networks.

With that said, I am still a newbie to the whole FTA arena and I would like to think I'm on my way to finally purchasing equipment. Thanks to Iceberg's recent review on the Pansat 3500, I believe I have determined which receiver I wish to get(Other suggestions or remarks certainly welcome).

Now to the question I have. I plan on using two satellites with my Pansat, Galaxy 3C (95?) and Intelsat 5 (97?). Considering most two LNB dishes on the market are designed for much larger separations, I'm curious to find out what others have done to pick up on Sat's that are only 2 degrees apart. So far, a few solutions came to mind from my research:

1. Use a toroidal dish (Some have stated that a minimum of 3 degrees is needed for effective reception)
2. Use a single dish and a rotator (Prefer fixed since it's cheaper, won't break down, no extra wiring)
3. Use a single dish and single LNB and focus in-between the two sats (This is probably the newbie part of me talking)
4. Jury-rig a LNB to another LNB and use a tie-wrap or something to hold it in place (I suspect for a newbie this approach has low success rate)
5. Use two separate dishes (Last resort)

Suggestions? Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to the FTA forum!
No extra cabling is required when adding a motor to a system, one coax cable controls and powers the motor and brings back the signal to the receiver, its the receiver that powers everything!
I have had my motor for well over two years without a problem, when installed correctly they have a LONG life, my SG2100 motor gets a LOT of use and has never lest me down in the coldest winters here in MN.