Up coming equipment swap

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by Timeclock, Feb 15, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies due to lack of activity. Consider opening a new thread instead.
  1. Timeclock

    Timeclock Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Posts:
    63
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    tenn
    Will DTV swap out my two D12-100 and SD dvr for three H24 receivers. (I know a SL3 antenna is required) in this required hd receiver change over.
     
  2. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    439
    Location:
    IA
    Call them and ask them what they will do for you. I think they've been offering Genie + client upgrades as an option too. I assume you don't want to lose your DVR and have only receivers...
     
    harshness likes this.
  3. robjlevin

    robjlevin SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    123
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Call and talk to them. No matter what you settle on, you will have a new two-year contract so make the best deal you can.
     
  4. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    27,914
    Likes Received:
    11,132
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    Not necessarily. Aren't they still offering a swap to mpeg4 equipment with no contract due to the change from mpeg2 to mpeg4?
     
  5. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    439
    Location:
    IA
    Yes, unless things have changed the upgrades for MPEG2 SD customers are no commitment, because Directv is leaving them without a choice due to SD receivers becoming boat anchors later this year.
     
  6. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    12,632
    Likes Received:
    3,385
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    If Directv comes to you to swap equipment they will swap the SD equipment for the HD equivalent receiver for free with no commitment.

    If you go to them, they may still do it for free but anything above and beyond like a genie they may require a commitment.

    They may be installing Genies for everyone and just disabling the DVR.
     
  7. Timeclock

    Timeclock Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Posts:
    63
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    tenn
    The problem is I have two receivers in house, one receiver out in a RV and the other out in my garage so a genie setup might not work for me. I have the old lmb with 4 outputs driving the sd receivers. I would like to get 4 h24 receivers and a SL3 antenna with 4 outputs (lmb on ebay) 2 year commitment is not a problem.
     
  8. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    60,766
    Likes Received:
    2,688
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    You can still get into a Genie (HR44/54 ... 54 if you need 4k) with your set up, just not the Genie 2 (HS17, thats the one that requires you go to clients entirely) ...

    Take a Genie HR44/54 and use the HR24s to go with it, one in the RV for sure and one in the garage.

    Thats why I avoid the Genie2 as well ... need one for the Motorhome.
     
    I WANT MORE likes this.
  9. Swamptech

    Swamptech Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Baton Rouge
    Don't upgrade to Genie 2, only other boxes allowed on same account are clients. Genie 2 promotions for some reason only comes in conjunction with 4k or wireless client. I dont recommend either because of the issues that happen to MRV networks when connected to the internet. Genie2 works ok with wired clients. But regardless of what they give you for free you'll have to upgrade your RV dish and the tech won't/can't do that. You'll have to go to an RV shop and purchase a HD dish. If you have a HD dish and think you'll be able to manually aim it without a meter you might be in for a lot of aggravation. I would suggest you call in and try to get to loyalty department. They have more available promos. I'm a tech so if I were sent to your house this is what I would recommend.

    -Genie (hr54 or 44) and a wired client This would be a swap replace upgrade for your (2) D12's. Upgrade would include an ODU upgrade probably getting you a new dish with a Reverse band3 LNB.(forget the RV for now) This would be contract free and is seperate from your upgrade eligibility promotions earned by your loyalty or protection plan loyalty.

    - Go to RV store and get a dish option that can get the 99, 101,103 orbital slots. The 119 and 95 are going away in April.

    - You can take your genie to your RV and it will work fine but the home system will not work when the genie is away. If you want the 3rd box call customer service back after you upgrade your house system and RV dish and ask what promotions are available for you on a new box. Say you have an out building/mother in law suite with its own dish and need a standalone box (NOT A CLIENT/ GENIE MINI) an H24 or H25 or HR24 if you want DVR capabilities in the RV. Box should be free but they will ask for a 2year contract and it will be an additional 7$ a month.
    *kicker....once You upgrade after you "Upgrade SD to HD" they will hit you with the Genie system fees that you got for free in the mpeg rollover deal. (18 a month approx in DVR and whole home billed line items)
    Soooo purchasing a standalone box from a 3rd party (RV store/online) and activating it to your account might be the best option in this case.

    But you never know...This all might change tomorrow without notice, it is At&T after all.
    Good luck hope my rambling helps yall
     
  10. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    439
    Location:
    IA
    119 & 95 aren't going away quite THAT quickly, but will be gone by the end of the year.
     
  11. TheTechGuru

    TheTechGuru SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Texas
    DO NOT GET A GENIE SYSTEM!

    H24's or HR24's are the only way to go!


    Retentions swapped out my 3 H24's for 3 HR24's free...(with 2 year contract)

    You should at a minimum be able to get two H24's and one HR24 out of them...
     
  12. Timeclock

    Timeclock Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Posts:
    63
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    tenn
    Thanks for all the info you people have given me. The HD satellite used now is the single line in to a splitter box with the cables having to go back out through the wall outside. The old lmb has 4 outputs so I've hook every thing up outside. I saw on Ebay there is a SL3 lmb with 4 outputs, does DTV have or use that kind of lmb? Can I choose what lmb I get. I would get one if they would install it.
     
  13. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    439
    Location:
    IA
    They will install the single wire LNB - the reverse band 3 is what they install for everyone now (unless they have so many receivers they exceed the limit of what it is capable of)

    If the wires are run outside your house they will install the splitter outside (it is weatherproof) so you don't need to have wires going inside then back outside.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies due to lack of activity. Consider opening a new thread instead.

Separate names with a comma.

More...