Status
Please reply by conversation.

gizzer777

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Dec 15, 2005
none
Hi there..
I am new to FTA and this site, but have had a BUD c/ku band (now 4dtv) for over 10 yrs.

I just ordered the Viewsat 2000 EXTREME based on the info I have found (The Viewsat home site never seems to pick up their phone, always after hours recording), and will hook it up when it arrives. I think I should be able to use (2) high band splitters (1 for C and 1 for KU) and keep control of the dish with my current 4dtv receiver. I am a bit confused as to how polarity works with FTA, since the 4DTV receiver automatically selects H/V polarity when it finds the bird.

I will post a followup on the unit as soon as I get the Extreme and figure out how to hook it up!

Any suggestions would be appreciated!
TIA
Jeff

Adding FTA to 4dtv...Thank You Rob!

That is exactly what I thought it would take....Confirmation is always nice from those in the know!
regards
Jeff

gizzer777 said:
I am a bit confused as to how polarity works with FTA, since the 4DTV receiver automatically selects H/V polarity when it finds the bird.

Whatever polarity your 4dtv is on is what you'll have to watch and/or scan on your Viewsat 2000 Extreme. You will only be able to scan 1 polarity at a time. Then you can switch polarity and scan the other side. You will also have to scan C-band and ku-band separately.

Al

Edit: You have to scan C/ku separately, because the Viewsat will have to be set for the correct frequencies. C has 4 digits and ku has 5 digits. Also the Viewsat will need to be set to 5150 on the lnb for the c-band side and 10750 for the ku side.

Last edited:
wow voomvoom...THANKS...
Looks a bit complicated....Hope they explain it easily in the manual which I have not looked at (the normal V2000 is the only one I have found online...in fact the viewsat page does not even make mention of the Extreme model...Interesting.