Website Building Advice?

csschrot

Supporting Founder
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Sep 8, 2003
Lincoln Ne
Thank you for taking the time to read. I have built a personal website a few years back. I did it just so I could keep my email from changing when people got bought out. Always tried to stay with local companies.

Anyhow I used Frontpage during that time. Lately I haven't been updating the site and with my new desktop I thinking of updating my web building program as I go.

Do you have any suggestions for someone like me.

Thank you for your help and advice.

Shawn

Last edited:
Microsoft has done away with frontpage. They are using Expressionweb i think... Dreamweaver isnt a bad tool. I know you didnt really come to hear this, but i prefer coding it myself :)

Coding yourself? Is it that hard to learn? I guess I wouldn't be againstit I just don't know where to start learning something like that. That was my only reason for buying frontpage. I have little knowledge when it comes to coding.

Dreamweaver is a good program.. Another program that is nice if you code or use GUI is a program called "HomeSite" Of course I havent used it in years it was free back then though it still maybe..

I always goto download.com and search for programs when im in need. Has tons of free stuff just search for "Website builders" or something similar. Also depending on where you host the website some companies offer free website building software.

If you do decide to code it yourself, I would highly recommend Head First HTML. It start off by assuming you can barely use a text editor and, by the end of the book, you're making three-column websites with photos, tables, etc. and styling with CSS.

Dreamweaver is a good program.. Another program that is nice if you code or use GUI is a program called "HomeSite" Of course I havent used it in years it was free back then though it still maybe..